Writer’s Block does NOT have to EXIST!!!!!

The answer is closer to you than you think, literally! Not figuratively or metaphorically.

I am a songwriter. Songwriting has been in my DNA for awhile, since I was little in fact. There’s one thing I can say about Writer’s Block…….,

“I Do NOT CLAIM IT!”

I’ve never really believed in it because it doesn’t have to exist. Their are ways and methods around it. It is called preoccupying the mind & in doing that it transcends into the body & spirit.

Hope that wasn’t to heavy for you. Let me explain!

In most cases, people try to focus too much of their attention on the task at hand. It’s too much of a focal point. All of your energy is directed solely on that particular subject, in this case, writing a song, coming up with a concept, getting the melodic structure right on point & conveying the idea effectively.

LeXXah Drew FOCUSED

We know the goal of writing the song is to make it HOT! A HIT! A STELLAR RECORD!!!! Of course! But sometimes when you’re focus is diverted and channeled else where other than music, you are able to write those stellar lyrics you were looking for all along, vocal production, arrangements & all.

Think of it this way. Have you ever lost something like your phone or favorite t-shirt or maybe some jewelry and it drove you crazy trying to find it? But, all of a sudden, you found things that you weren’t trying to find, that you misplaced last week or a month ago. Lol. It’s crazy how that works.

It is the same when it comes to writing a song. It’ll drive you crazy if you can’t find those lyrics, that concept, that melody. Don’t drive yourself crazy. There’s no need.

Simply find something else, meaning, watch your favorite movie, fix one of your favorite snacks or meal, call your friend, your sibling or your Mom. Go play basketball, play Mass Effect on Playstation or listen to music as a fan for enjoyment rather than in the professional role you often play.

You get the idea. Channel your energy somewhere else.

So, I will share with you on what I do to avoid writers block. I divert my energy by sitting on the toilet.

Yes, you heard me right. It gives me a relief & much comfort. So many concepts and ideas just come to me. Talk about peace & tranquility and finding those elements that will make that song so stellar. It’s a beautiful thing.

Putting that song together, laying down the reference vocals, writing those lyrics, having a strong concept!

The other thing I do is enjoy listening to the music as a fan & lover of music. I dance to it and workout to it and it’s easy on my mind, body & spirit. I work up a sweat and everything. Besides, that’s what the purpose of a song you write is for, inevitably, is for fans and people to enjoy what you have created.

Trust me it works. Just know that writers block doesn’t have to exist. You don’t have to be a lost for words or concept or feeling. Those elements are in you, you’re just focusing too hard on them, so therefore their not revealed on the surface.

Don’t look for the lyrics, the concept, the melodic structure, let it all come.

I always say, if something is in you, it will come out. That’s the beauty about having a gift. Your gift will not leave you. It was given to you by God.

Be Blessed!

LeXXah Drew It & Alexis Wilson wrote it.

http://www.facebook.com/LeXXahDrew

http://www.Twitter.com/LeXXahDrew

Instagram & Cinegram: @LeXXahDrew

http://www.reverbnation.com/LeXXahDrew

http://www.youtube.com/AweAlexisWilson

Leave a Reply

